Committee Leadership in the 118th Congress

Following the mid-term elections, Committee leaders for the 118th Congress are starting to fall into place.

On the Senate side, we expect Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA) to chair the Senate Appropriations Committee and Sen. Susan Collins (R-ME) to be the leading Republican. With Murray taking the helm at Appropriations, Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-VT) will lead the Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) Committee. Sen. Bill Cassidy (R-LA) is expected to be the lead Republican at the HELP Committee with Sen. Rand Paul (R-KY) announcing that he will take the top slot at the Homeland Security Committee. At the Finance Committee, Sens. Ron Wyden (D-OR) and Mike Crapo (R-ID) are expected to retain their positions as chair and ranking member.

On the House side, with Republicans taking control of the chamber, more changes are afoot. At the Appropriations Committee, Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX) will trade places with Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT) to become chair and ranking member. At Energy and Commerce, Reps. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA) and Pallone (D-NJ) will also flip with McMorris Rodgers now leading the Committee. At the Ways and Means Committee, the race is still on for chairman with Reps. Adrian Smith (R-NE), Jason Smith (R-MO) and Vern Buchanan (R-FL) all vying for the top slot. Rep. Richard Neal (D-MA) will move into the ranking member position at the Committee. Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA) plans to serve as chair of the House Agriculture Committee, moving up from his role as ranking member, while current Chair David Scott (D-GA) intends to remain in leadership on the panel. Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC), who is now the ranking member of the House Education and Labor Committee, is seeking a waiver from Republican term-limit rules to be leader of the committee next year. Rep. Bobby Scott (D-VA) is expected to stay on as Democratic leader at the Committee.